Music society
Symphonic Wind Orchestra


SUSWO, originally founded by woodwind and brass players at the university, performs a varied and challenging repertoire to a high standard. The orchestra gives a wide range of musicians from across the university the chance to perform in a friendly and talented ensemble. Today the orchestra has approximately fifty members and aims to perform three concerts a year. Members are auditioned at the start of the academic year (a minimum standard of grade 6/7 or equivalent is required) and the orchestra is run by a committee of students who work closely with renowned conductor Joseph Beckhelling to select a challenging and enjoyable repertoire.

This year's committee are:

  • President: James Kennedy
  • Vice-President: Beth Hopkins
  • Orchestral Manager: Rhiannon Lewis
  • Secretary: Emily Cox
  • Treasurer: Charlotte Wilson
  • Librarian: Laurence Astill
  • Social Secretaries: Wayne Hau + Jenny Riggs
  • Tour Secretaries: Iona Woodbridge + Sian Withington
  • Publicity Officer: Tessa Drysdale

Current members


SWO in previous years

| 2017 - 2018 | 2016 - 2017 |